After being blown away again and again by the succulent beef ribs and such from my friend’s Big Green Egg, I finally purchased a ceramic grill of my own. After doing a ton of research online, I purchased the Primo Oval XL at a local shop, Halligan’s Hearth and Home in Malvern, PA, and installed it just before Thanksgiving 2011.  We had a house full of family arriving for the Thanksgiving holiday, and I had agreed to cook the 26 pound free range turkey on the Primo, so I had to run a couple trial cooks to get myself situated with the grill. I didn’t want to screw up the turkey with 19 hungry people holding forks and knives at my table.  The first cook was simple, 2 gorgeous dry-aged Ribeye steaks.  I know, steaks are not the true test of a ceramic grill, but we had them on hand and the grill wasn’t ready to use until late that evening, so a fast cook was in order.  The steaks were perfect, and we were off to a good start with the Primo.  The next night, we had a little more time, so we cooked a small “practice” turkey (see the pic below).  Not only was it picture perfect, it was the best damn turkey we have ever had.

My first slow cook on the Primo grill

Since then, we have used the Primo at least 2 or 3 nights a week, even when the outside temperatures were well below freezing.  With the exception of one less than satisfying meal (my mistake, not the grill’s), this thing has produced some of the most gratifying meals we’ve made at home.

I hope I can add some entertaining and useful information to the site on a regular basis, and you find it compelling to visit again.  I also encourage you to add your own comments about grilling and BBQ, regardless of whether you own a Primo or not.  I’m sure a lot of great stories and tips are out there.

Cheers, Geoff